IPL 2018 Cricket Carnival

The IPL season is back with all the glamour, glitter, cheerleaders and especially the nail-biting finishes. This year IPL will see eight teams locking their horns for the Ultimate. These teams are owned by the richest from the likes of King Khan to the Ambani’s and the list goes on. When all this add up the IPL turns out to the Indian Super Bowl.

 Here are few interesting facts about the eight teams contesting for the ultimate glory

Chennai Super Kings:

And guess who’s back in town aiming for the top spot, the Chennai Super Kings captained by Mahendra Sing Dhoni and coached by Stephen Fleming. 2-time IPL champions in their own right, the Super Kings are back after serving a 2 yr ban due to their involvement in the IPL 2013 scandal. The Kings have been licking their chops and now the chains have loosened, they sure are in Beast mode with only one mantra “Conquer”. 

Captain: MS Dhoni
Coach: Stephen Fleming
Highest Paid Player (2018): MS Dhoni retained for 15 Cr
Position last term: NA
Home Ground: M. A. Chidambaram Stadium

Rajasthan Royals:

Rajasthan Royals have long seen their glory days. The Royals were the inaugural IPL champions back in 2008 and since then everything went downstream which includes the 2 yr ban along with Chennai Super Kings for their involvement in IPL 2013 scandal. Will the Royals defy all odds and win this year IPL league? Well, it’s just a matter of, wait and watch! This year they have spent a whopping Rs 12.5 crore to pick up “Ben Stokes”, which could prove to be a masterstroke. Steve Smith was supposed to lead RR but due to his ban, Ajinkya Rahane has taken over the leadership and will be hoping to lead RR back to glory.

Captain: Ajinkya Rahane
Team Mentor: Shane Warne
Highest Paid Player (2018): Ben Stokes – 12.5 Cr
Position last term: NA
Home Ground: Sawai Mansingh Stadium


Sunrisers Hyderabad:

Just like any IPL fan, I’m rooting for my home team, I’m talking about the Sunrisers Hyderabad. One of the most underrated teams but make no mistake we have bagged the big trophy back in 2016. Sunrisers is under Kane Williamson’s captaincy. David Warner would have been a great asset and captain for Sunrisers this year but unfortunately, he’s on a year ban from playing international matches due to the ball-tampering scandal on March 2018 during the third test match between Australia and South Africa. Don’t count us down yet, we are one of the ‘Dark Horses’ for this years IPL league and might steal the spotlight.

Captain: Kane Williamson
Coach: Tom Moody
Highest Paid Player (2018): Manish Pandey – 11 Cr
Position last term: 4
Home Ground: Rajiv Gandhi Intl. Cricket Stadium

Mumbai Indians:

The Reining, Defending, Undisputed IPL champion, The Mumbai Indians is all charged to defend their title. One of the most successful IPL teams to date with a record 3 IPL Championship victories. IPL fans should be assuming, this year MI defending their title will be walking in the park but for me, it seems that MI is under immense pressure as there is so much at stake, the reigning champion, 3-time IPL champions, a legend (Sachin Tendulkar) who paved the path to success. Rohit Sharma (current captain) sure does have a chip on his shoulder to defend their current reign.

Captain: Rohit Sharma
Coach: Mahela Jayawardene
Highest Paid Player (2018): Rohit Sharma retained for 15 Cr
Position last term: Winners
Home Ground: Wankhede Stadium

Kings XI Punjab:

The Kings XI franchise has always been controversy-filled and has had little success in the IPL. But things are looking good this year with their star-studded lineups like Aaron Finch, Ravichandran Ashwin, The Mighty Yuvraj Singh and The Gayle Storm. God bless those Kings Xl opponents when Yuvy and Gayle put their foot down on the crease. As if the Gayle Storm wasn’t enough now it’s “The Mighty Yuvy Gayle Storm” which hovers this IPL.

Captain: Ravichandran Ashwin
Coach: Brad Hodge
Highest Paid Player (2018): Axar Patel retained for 12.5 Cr
Position last term: 5
Home Ground: IS Bindra Stadium

Delhi Daredevils:

Ever wondered if there’s a team which had all the tools to be a champion but always underperformed. Well look no further, Delhi Daredevils is the answer. Each year the Daredevils comes up with the prominent lineup but fails to catch up with the other big teams, not a surprise anymore. But with the change in leadership coming in the form of appointing a 2-time IPL winning captain Gautam Gambhir, DD would be hoping for a turnaround and finally have a trophy to show off in their otherwise empty trophy cabinet.

Captain: Gautam Gambhir
Coach: Ricky Ponting
Highest Paid Player (2018): Rishabh Pant retained for 15 Cr
Position last term: 6
Home Ground: Feroz Shah Kotla Ground

Royal Challengers Bangalore:

"Ee Sala Cup Namde" The wait is over, our conquest begins tomorrow. #PlayBold

A post shared by Royal Challengers Bangalore (@royalchallengersbangalore) on

RCB is one of the top tier franchise in IPL which stands head to head with MI when it comes to success but never won the IPL championship. Adding to that RCB showed their worst performance in IPL 2017 literally ending their campaign at the bottom of the table. Even the likes of Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Chris Gayle and Mitchell Starc couldn’t help their team performance and make matters worse KL Rahul and Sarfaraz Khan was labeled aside due to injuries. RCB currently is in a tough spot but with the ‘Never Back Down’ attitude of Virat and backed up by AB and Brendon McCullum, the championship is on the horizon.

Captain: Virat Kohli
Coach: Daniel Vettori
Highest Paid Player (2018): Virat Kohli Retained for 17 Cr
Position last term: 8
Home Ground: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

Kolkata Knight Riders:

KKR is one of the franchises to play the inaugural IPL and still active and co-owned by one of the biggest celebrity, King Khan. KKR showed their worst performance in the initial IPL seasons even with the overcrowded star players like Sourav Ganguly, Brendon McCullum, David Hussey, Ricky Pointing and Brad Hodge. But this is their yesteryears, now KKR is a 2-time IPL champion and formidable opponent to any other IPL franchise. In 2017, KKR missed reaching the pinnacle by a hair strand coming in 3rd overall. With Dinesh Karthik leading the line this time hopefully KKR will stand alongside MI to be a 3-time IPL champion.

Captain: Dinesh Kartik
Coach: Jacques Kallis
Highest Paid Player (2018): Sunil Narine retained for 12.5 Cr
Position last term: 3
Home Ground: Eden Gardens


You May Like: 

2018 FIA formula one world championship